Garden Delight

A garden is a delight to the eye and a solace for the soul. — Saadi

Elora Garden 2014, watercolour, 14 1/2" x 10 1/2", copyright Carol Hughes.
Elora Garden 2014, watercolour, 14 1/2″ x 10 1/2″, copyright Carol Hughes.

Several years ago, I was granted access to this private garden in a lovely small town as part of a plein air painting event.  I sat and sketched and enjoyed the beautiful summer day, but really had no idea then how to turn my sketch into a painting.

Fast forward to today, and I have learned various means of sorting through the masses of information a scene such as this presents.  Even so, I got enjoyably lost in painting the various textures in the garden.

The process of painting allowed me to relive that day, and feel the pleasure of spending time in the peaceful garden.  It also gave me some satisfaction to realize how far I have come since then as a painter, though I know it’s a journey that will never end.

Beautiful gardens and painting: both bring delight and solace.

3 responses to “Garden Delight”

  1. It is definitely a delight to the eye! I really love this one of yours. I forwarded your blog to Shelley (Newman). She was at the Headwaters Art last weekend.

    Date: Tue, 18 Feb 2014 15:11:50 +0000 To: monicaburnside@hotmail.com

  2. Delight and solace indeed.

Leave a comment