A Different Light

Mill Ruins, 2015, watercolour, 14 1/2" x 21 1/2", copyright Carol Hughes.
Mill Ruins, 2015, watercolour, 14 1/2″ x 21 1/2″, copyright Carol Hughes.

Seeing things in a different light can make all the difference.   I had passed by this spot many times and wanted to paint it, but couldn’t quite figure out how.

One day late last fall, after spending several hours sketching in another part of the conservation area, I was on my way home when I saw the golden afternoon light glowing on the limestone walls and casting a shadow on the bridge that led to the ruins.

Finally, the right place and the right time!  It was too late to start a sketch but I snapped some photos and tried to engrave the scene on my memory to paint later.

In the colder weather the need to fit some exercise into my schedule sent me out for walks timed to catch the last warmth of the day.  I began to notice how the rays of the setting sun made the local stone more prominent.

Most of my previous plein air painting experience had taken place in summer, heading out first thing in the morning and stopping at noon when the sun got too hot and shadows disappeared.

My winter walks showed me how a different light can transform the view of familiar  surroundings.